Akala Youth Club wins “2nd Baireni Open Cricket Cup 2014”

  Eleven days of Open Inter Club Cricket league finally came to its end on Sept. 30th with “Akala Youth Club” of Galbubeshi coming out as Winner among 11 other teams. The tournament was organized by the ‘Baireni Youth Club’ of Vyas-5, Baireni, on the auspicious occasion of Dusshera on their ground. Member of an Assembly Mr. Ramchandra Pokhrel attended the final match.

  The finale was expected to be quite competitive but instead turned out to be very surprising as well as entertaining. The host who choosed to bat first winning the toss crumbled down with just 62 runs only on 11 overs and very confident winning team Akala players, who had brought some National T-20 Club players, entered to wrap-it-up-fast blasting the balls on just 6 overs but their plan soon nearly came to an end following their quick loss of wickets. But the cool thinking of no. 5 batsman slowing down put the great pressure on the bowlers and later went on to win the game with 5 wickets remaining.

  Recently the Akala Cricket Club has come out strong and been dominating the cricket scenario in Damauli for quite long. On the previous Tournament too which was held at Damauli the club was the winner.

  Later the award ceremony was held at the local school ground with big set-up, performances and later followed by the address from the former first City Chief Tara Prasad Shrestha and other reputed people under the chairmanship of the Club’s President Hira Darai and former Club President and now the adviser of the Club Prem Gurung. Club boys and girls performed some dances and one drama entitled “Dashainko Chataro” too was done. Large number of locals were gathered at the venue.

  Second club, Baireni, were awarded with Rs. 10,000/- and the Winner Rs. 20,000/-  of cheque along with certificates and medals to all the players. And the individual awards were:

Best Catch of the Tournament – Rs. 2,000/-:
Aagat Hang Subba (Damauli Cricket Club)

Best Batsman of the Tournament – Rs. 3,000/-:
Ful Ansari (Akala Youth Club)

Best Captain of the Tournament – Rs. 3,000/-:
Suraj Karki (Akala Youth Club)

Best Baller of the Tournament – Rs. 3,000/-:
Suraj Patel (Akala Youth Club)

Man of the Series – Rs. 5,500/-:
Suraj Patel (Akala Youth Club)


About damaulitanahun

a little step on exposing our Tanahun to the world...

Posted on October 3, 2014, in Other places, Sports and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.